The birth chart is a powerful source of self-knowledge. The position of the stars and signs at the time of our birth has a lot to say about what influences us to be as we are. The map is divided into 12 astrological houses, almost like a pizza. Each piece is related to a part of our lives and is classified based on the strength and quality it presents. In this way, it is possible to understand how each olive (planet) works on its piece.



Many astrologers consider the planets located in these houses to be the strongest and most influential. They associate the energy in them with the signs representing the beginning of a cycle (Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn). Angular houses represent the basic areas of life:

House 1

It is linked to personal identity, personality, temperament and how others see you.

House 4

It is linked to the home, family environment and origin.

House 7

It is linked to relationships, whether in personal life (as seen by the ideal partner) or professional.

House 10

It is linked to career, recognition and ambition.


These houses have this name because they follow the angular ones. With that, you can already get a sense that the planets located in these houses have an average force of action (because they are in the middle). Thus, the general idea is that they provide the base energy of the cycle, being related to the signs Taurus, Leo, Aquarius and Scorpio. The houses classified as successors are:

House 2

It is linked to possessions and their way of dealing with them (involves money, security and the idea of what value is).

House 5

This is the home of fun, hobbies and romance (including the relationship with the children).

House 8

Also linked to possessions, but not personal but external to the person, associated with the sharing of money (involves issues such as inheritance, death and overcoming financial obstacles).

House 11

The strongest of all successive houses represents the social, the tribes to which it belongs, and its relationship with each person.


This is the weakest classification because it is linked to everything that is changeable, often related to the signs Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius and Pisces. The purpose of these houses is to distribute and organize the product of others, to give the final touch.

The falling houses are:

House 3

It is linked to the environment of each one, involves family ties, travel and how the person expresses himself in the environment.

House 6

It is associated with the ego, daily life, work, health and habits in general.

House 9

It is linked to deeper issues such as philosophy, religion and wisdom.

House 12

It is linked to the spirit, the unconscious, mental health and all the issues that we seek to escape as weaknesses and traumas from the past.

Now that you know a little more about the houses and their classification, you can better understand how the birth chart works and how the planets influence each piece of this pizza: astrological houses, or better, each area of your life.

Leave a Reply